Image result for failing forward

It’s been 2 weeks since I last wrote an article. I haven’t been myself of late, something happened that changed my schedule and I ended up having a self-inflicted writer’s block.
My thoughts were far from writing and whenever I tried coming up with something it would never add up.

On the other hand, I started reading a book by John C. Maxwell titled Failing Forward. It’s about how to deal with failure. We have all failed at some point in our life and the thing that really separates us is how we deal with it.

Some people let failure consume them and they never get over their disappointment and it ends up defining who they are. Some people, however, have mastered how to get over failure and use it to their disadvantage to get back up and try again.

I have just read a few pages but I already found a lot of valuable lessons from it. One of the most important ones that addressed my situation was on the mindset towards failure.

I learnt that failure is only failure when the mind acknowledges it as such.

Most people have the wrong mindset towards anything that takes them out of the comfort zone and because of that negative attitude they end up failing before actually starting.

Self-doubt has killed a lot of people. We end up being self-imprisoned and fueling our fears. During the time I was faced with the ‘writer’s block’, it was more self-imposed than reality. I told myself that, “Because I’m faced with a situation right now, I don’t think I’m going to be able to write”.

By the time I got down to think of what to write, all I had was a blank mind. I had affirmed those negative thoughts and told myself it’s not working and so it didn’t.

I believe that this is what most people do, we reason ourselves to support negative thoughts and we don’t do anything to prove the ‘opinion’ wrong or challenge ourselves to see if we are capable.

The lesson I took out of my experience is that, the mind is a receiver of whatever you feed it with. Anything you plug it with it will display, anything you focus on it will amplify. If you focus on failures and pity yourself you will not progress and move forward.

When you pity yourself, it affects every other aspect that was going well in your life and you end up missing out on other opportunities.

Learning to fail forward will help you constantly challenging yourself  to keep trying even when odds are against you. It trains your mind to turn every bad situation into an opportunity, every mistake into an improvement and every failure into success.

To quote John C. Maxwell himself, “Failing forward is the ability to get back up after you’ve been knocked down, learn from your mistake, and move forward in a better direction.”

 

